The Bees Knees (not really)

So folks, it’s been almost a month after my marathon and I’m still in recovery mode. My left knee, everything about it: the outside, the inside, the back. And I may be over compensating because now my right arch has been hurting.

I’ve been very disciplined to stop running once I start feeling pain. Once the pain starts, I force myself to walk. It’s been such a slow process and all I want to do is run. Run far and run long. I’m running about three days a week right now and one gym/cross training day.

I can run about 3 miles without any pain. This morning I was pushing it and attempted to run 6 miles. I got to 4 and then had to walk the last 2 miles. I really should’ve chosen a different route.

I’m looking into different ways I can get back into running. Physical therapist? Leg strengthening exercises? Minimalist shoes (currently reading Born to Run)? Chi Running?Β 

Do I need to just take a full week off of running?

I’m DESPERATE to get back out there. It feels like a part of me is missing. It’s actually really starting to affect me. Running is my outlet. It’s where I go to think, to clear my head, to get a perspective on things. I think I’m going crazy. Definitely an addict.

Published by

Val

I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I love Taco Bell, my puppy and creative things!

Leave a Reply

