Post Marathon Bliss & Blues

I completed my second marathon. 

I’m going to let that sink in for a little bit. My life has been a whirlwind for the past few months, so the gravity of the accomplishment has the potential to fly by.

I completed my second marathon AND I am still standing. 

After the San Diego Rock N’ Roll, I hobbled around for about a week and had to carefully rehab my knee for over a month. I’m proud to report that I was walking normally the day after my marathon. I did have to walk backwards down stairs due to my exhausted quads, but I’d take that over debilitating knee pain any day!

I took off one week completely from running, although I walked and walked and walked through five theme parks. This was my first week back running. I’m using Hil Hagdon’s Recovery Plan. The morning of my first run, I woke up completely giddy. I could not wait to get back out there.

My first three runs were great, a little slow, but no pain. Even though I haven’t signed up for another race, my motivation levels are off the chart. This is a stark contrast to the last month or so of training. I blamed it on doing two marathons too close together, but this last round of marathon training was a beast. It was tough physically as I was working through some pain and injuries, but it was even tougher mentally. I had to use all my will power to get me out of bed each morning. Completely different feeling after the marathon, I’d wake up early without an alarm and have to impatiently wait for the sun to rise so I could go out for a run. I thought I loved running before, but I feel as though I’m just starting to unleash my passion and love for running. Scary? Addicted? Maybe, but I like it.

I’ve spent this week researching half marathons to sign up for, articles on speed work, maintenance plans and strength training for runners. Fueling the obsession. 

That was the bliss. Here comes the blues.

I went for my 60 minute run yesterday. After mile 4, I started to feel the dreaded IT band pain. 

NO.

Add to that research list “IT band rehab.” As much as I want to pretend this injury isn’t there, the reality is that my training was plagued with IT pain the last month and a half. By the grace of God, I made it through the marathon with very little pain and was able to walk pain free the next day. But that doesn’t mean the problem has gone away. It makes me a little sad as this injury really sets me back from training. I’m determined to beat this thing and have started strength training to target weak muscles. Foam rolling and strength training are my new best friends.

Dear IT Band Pain: Bring it.

Published by

Val

I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I love Taco Bell, my puppy and creative things!

Leave a Reply

