2014 Runsolutions

Quotes to Run By
(source: Stephan Lawson Designs)

Being the goal oriented person that I am, I love making resolutions. Being the procrastinator that I am, I’m making my “2014” running resolutions (Runsolutions from here on out) at the end of January.

1. Run three half marathons
I’m taking a break from marathons for at least a year. Give my body a little bit of much needed rest. I still want to race, so instead of two marathons, let’s shoot for three halves. Sounds like a good trade off. I’m hoping to run one in the spring, Disney in the summer (yes, Run Disney has me wrapped around their little money printing finger), and another one in the fall.

2. Run 800-900 miles
This past year I ran 1,000 miles. ONE THOUSAND MILES. 1,162 miles to be exact. Yeah, even I feel like I’m lying. I hit the 1,000 mile mark in late fall. I felt like the Little Engine That Could. This mileage total was due to training for the two marathons. Without the two marathons, I’m not sure if I can hit the 1,000 mark again. I’ll aim for 900 and be happy with 800. I haven’t quite figured out what my weekly mileage is going to be or what type of maintenance plan I’m going to use until I start training for the races. I’m getting married this year and have almost a month’s worth of travel plans, tons of fun, but it may throw a little wrench into my yearly running total, not quite sure what is realistic here.

3. Run FASTER
Slow and steady wins the race. But sometimes you just want to be faster. I want to start incorporating speed work into my runs.

4. Set a half-marathon PR
This is almost a sub goal of number three. Even with several years of running under my belt, I haven’t seen an improvement in my race times. All of the races I entered before, I entered to finish. Now I want to push myself to set a half marathon PR.

5. Cross and strength train
Ugh. I get resistance even typing this goal. Cross and strength training are what I slack on most. I got better with cross training, I just don’t have a lot of joy in doing it. In addition to whatever my running schedule ends up being, I will add one day of cross training. I believe that my lack of strength training is the reason I’m having problems with my IT band. I promise to not neglect it this year.

6. Kick the IT Band Pain to the Curb
See above. Bye, bye ITBS!

Published by

Val

I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I love Taco Bell, my puppy and creative things!

9 thoughts on “2014 Runsolutions”

  1. I think I only did 2 cross training/weight sessions in my 6 months of training for my marathon. Great goals! All the best as you pursue them. πŸ™‚ I’m done my first marathon (in Disney) now and my next goal is to complete Tough Mudder.

Leave a Reply

