Slow Down Everyone You’re Moving Too Fast

restdayLast week I went on a 10 miler. I felt a special kind of bliss getting to run a double digit run again. Towards the end of the run, I started to feel some pain in my right knee. My left IT band has been the source of my problems, but every once in a while I’ll get a flare up on my right knee. No rhyme or reason, just some intense, sharp pain.

I should’ve slowed down and taken more walking breaks, but I was making great time and I just wanted to finish.

I was actually annoyed at my knee. I’ve been doing a regular strengthening routine, foam rolling consistently and running on soft surfaces. Hey Right Knee, stop being so high maintenance! What else do you want me to do?!Β Rest maybe? No. That definitely can’t be the answer.

But it is.

Taking time off makes me feel weak. It makes me fear losing the fitness level that I’ve worked so hard to gain. It also makes me a little stir crazy.

I’m trying very hard to be in tune with and listen to my body. I’m not training for anything, so there isn’t this need to push myself to the limits. I completed 2 marathons in one year, working through pain and nursing an IT band injury. Okay, body, I get it, you want some rest.

This week I only did two outside runs, which was almost forced onto me since sunny California got some rain this week. Not wanting to come back with soaking wet clothes and muddy shoes forced me into the gym. I logged two elliptical workouts. The nine miler this morning made my heart pine for running outside, it’s just hard to stay on a machine for that long.

I hope this week of rest has helped. I’m chomping at the bit to get back out there.

Published by

Val

I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I love Taco Bell, my puppy and creative things!

5 thoughts on “Slow Down Everyone You’re Moving Too Fast”

  1. You’re doing the right thing by resting! I hate it too, and can totally relate to feeling antsy to get going again. If you are worried about losing your fitness and it’s just the knee bothering you, you could always crosstrain a little. I don’t like the gym much, but absolutely love to go swimming and always treat myself to a little session in the sauna afterwards. It doesn’t even feel like exercise then, more like pampering. I hope your knee gets better soon!

    1. Thanks for the encouragement an suggestion! I have to keep the offer picture in mind and remember that taking care of myself now is better than not being able to run at all later!

  2. I understand the frustrations of IT Band pain…mine has gotten a lot better by doing yoga but it still gives me problems every now and then (with longer runs)!

Leave a Reply

