Foot Injury Update #1

Rest. [noun]

1. the refreshing quiet or repose of sleep: a good night’s rest.
2. refreshing ease or inactivity after exertion or labor: to allow an hour for rest.
3. relief or freedom, especially from anything that wearies, troubles, or disturbs.
4. a period or interval of inactivity, repose, solitude, or tranquillity: to go away for a rest.

I’ve never been very good at rest. Case in point, I pushed through a four mile run this morning. There was no pain for the first mile. Then a small pain started aggravating my foot, which turned into more of a sharp pain by the end of the run. I figured that after three days of full rest I would be able to handle a normal run. Wrong.

I really dislike resting. It makes me feel lazy and while I know it’s unjustifiable I start worrying about my fitness levels dropping. Resting makes me want to run even more.

But for now, I need rest. Real rest. My foot is in some serious pain. I feel the pain in almost every step I take. It’s so strange, it came out of nowhere!

Self-diagnosis is not going very well. I was thinking it could be a stress fracture, but I don’t think I’m in enough pain for that. It’s not sensitive to touch, only when I walk on it. Soft tissue damage maybe? I should probably go to the doctor (my issues with doctors is worse than with resting), but I’ll wait it out for one more week and see if it can heal with just some good old fashioned rest.

One positive, I can sleep in tomorrow. Done.

Published by

Val

I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I love Taco Bell, my puppy and creative things!

Leave a Reply

