Confessions of A Yoga Noob

After my last blog post, I had some very helpful suggestions from Pscapp and Kristin to try yoga as a possible remedy to my ITBS struggles. I’m willing to try anything if there’s a slight possibility I’ll be able to run pain free.

My experience with yoga is limited to just classes of Bikram Yoga. The first class was a double date. Is there really a better place for a double date than a place where you will sweat out enough liquid to solve California’s drought problem? No, there isn’t. An hour and a half of hot yoga is no joke. I have never sweat that much in my entire life. It was like my skin was just one giant faucet. 

After my first two classes I never went back as the bikram in my area is a little pricey. But with the recommendations to try yoga, I wanted to give it another chance. Life is a tad busy at the moment with work at its busiest season with work events galore and coaching a high school gymnastics team, so going and paying for a class is out of the question. So where do you turn? YouTube!

My most favorite ab workout is on there, why not stream a yoga video?

I quickly realized that I know nothing about yoga and spent a few minutes doing a quick google search about the different types of yoga.

I attempted this power yoga video from Bryan Jones. It was only 30 minutes, which was perfect for my Tuesday morning. I think I may need something shorter, like 15 minutes, but not sure if I’ll get the benefits I’m looking for with a shorter time. It was a good workout, I even started to sweat a bit. One thing I know for sure, running has made my muscles so tight. As a former gymnast, my body and muscles were quite flexible. I’ve noticed that the more that I run, the tighter my muscles become. I held the downward dog position and my muscles screamed at me. Conclusion: I need to stretch more.

Even though yoga may not be my thing, I’m going to keep at it for a while. I’m going to commit to two-three days a week for at least 15 minutes for two months.

Published by

Val

I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I love Taco Bell, my puppy and creative things!

2 thoughts on “Confessions of A Yoga Noob”

    1. Haha, I think breaking myself is still within the realm of possibility! I found the photo on pinterest, they both aren’t me, but I thought it was pretty funny and summed up how I felt about some of the poses 🙂

Leave a Reply

