Running on Fumes

6:00am
BEEP BEEP BEEP

6:15am
BEEP BEEP BEEP

6:30am
BEEP BEEP BEEP 

After the third alarm, I finally just turned the alarm off.

8:30am
Still lying in bed debating on whether it’s worth it to go running. I had a Gollum and Smeagol type of conversation in my head.

“It’s so late. Might as well just stay in bed a little bit longer.”

“But today was supposed to be your long run, you’re so lazy. Why didn’t you just get up when the alarm went off?”

“It’s been a busy couple of weeks, you deserve to just take it easy.”

“You’ll feel so much better after the run, you always do.”

And back and forth it went. I even googled “Running when you’re exhausted” to see if I could justify taking the day off.

I finally threw on my running shoes and forced myself out for a run. Even when I don’t want to run, I usually get into the groove after the first mile. Today was not a usually sort of day. I struggled through three miles. Took some walk breaks. Pretty much hated the entire run. My eyes were so tired and heavy, I felt like it was an effort just to keep them open. I kept thinking about a iced chai latte, which would be my reward if I finished this run.

Most days, I really love running. Today I wished I would’ve just stayed in bed.

Even Disney princesses have those mornings every once in a while.
Even Disney princesses have those mornings every once in a while.

I think it’s time to sign up for another run to give me that extra motivational boost!

Published by

Val

I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I love Taco Bell, my puppy and creative things!

One thought on “Running on Fumes”

Leave a Reply

